I don’t know and I don’t care

Of late, I have realized that I am not that well read about technology as my colleague. He is a junior to me, still he knows a lot about stuff that I don’t. I started wondering why this is so. I thought may be his college was better and he actually learnt all this when he was a student. The moment this thought came to my mind, I knew it can’t be. No engineering college in India can teach you about Processing or OpenGL, right! As I interrogated myself more, I could pin point to one small thing which created this huge knowledge gap between me and my smart colleague. It’s one sentence actually, “It’s not my field.”

Whenever I came across something ‘new’, I would relate that to the work I was currently doing and I would either read it further or discard it saying “It’s not my field.” More often than not, it was the latter. This Not-my-field attitude is quite well summed up by the joke

Q: How many software engineers does it take to change a light bulb?
A: None. Because they will say “It’s not a software problem. It’s a hardware problem”.

No, I did not make that up, but the stark reality hit me after I heard this joke. Damn it, I am one of them.

As I peeked into my habits further more, I realized it’s not limited to just technology or my profession. I do this all the time. I am reading the newspaper and I spot a news about the President of China visiting India. A thought runs across my mind: “How does it matter to me? It doesn’t? Then skip the news.” I spend 15 minutes reading the newspaper. 7 minutes are spent reading the supplement and 2 minutes in comics. By the end of it, I am no more knowledgeable or aware than I was 15 minutes back.

This astounding discovery has depressed me so much that I have started to regret all these years which I have spent with this I-don’t-know-and-I-don’t-care attitude. If only I could reverse the earth and get back all those precious moments. Better late than never. I could have continued like this if not for that colleague of mine. Right? Thanks, buddy. You don’t know how much of a help that was.

One thought on “I don’t know and I don’t care

  1. Ha…Ha…i can not give what i have taken…i have so much that i dont care what you have starvation homeless ha ha …just do with out…ask your God he can becuse they dont care… rich how do you think they can have so much and see ppl and kids starve to death and just look the other way…H a H a..i am poor need some help…send me money..Ha Ha..really please..i can see you have plenty..May God blees you ..time is near for us all if ya help some maybe some will help you..so dont think this is a hand out think of a hand up and surly i’ll remember just how kind and big harted you are :-)).. sleep well my friend becuse you did something nice and good, May God bless you :-))…Daniel Hoffman

Leave a Reply

